For those of you eating in the dining halls, University Housing caters to any vegan or vegetarians needs you may have.
What does it mean to be vegan or vegetarian?
A vegan diet excludes the consumption of any type of animal product. This includes dairy, eggs, honey, marshmallows, Jell-O, other animal by-products, and of course meat. The typical non-vegan might ask “What’s left?” In our dining halls some vegan options include: Vegan Stuffed Peppers, Veggie Fajitas, Curried Tofu with Peanuts, and Orange Fennel Rice. Yum! These options would of course fit into a vegetarian diet as well.
A vegetarian diet excludes the consumption of meat and sometimes other animal products, typically for moral, religious, or health reasons. There are several types of vegetarian diets. The following most common types do not eat any meat products with the exception of the food products specified for each below:
Lacto-Vegetarian = eat milk products
Ovo-Vegetarian = eat eggs
Pesco-Vegetarian = eat fish
Pollo-Vegetarian = eat chicken
The dining halls on campus follow an ovo-lacto vegetarian diet, meaning that they may contain milk and/or eggs. Some vegetarian options we offer include Lasagna Rollups, Veggie Stir Fry, Quinoa Pilaf, and Veggie Nuggets.
Whether you practice a vegan or vegetarian lifestyle, want to change how you are eating, or just want to try something new, all of our dining halls have a least one vegan and/or vegetarian option available every day! If you are unsure about what fits into a vegan or vegetarian diet or how to ensure you are consuming adequate protein you can ask the nutrition team for clarification. You can also check our website at www.housing.siu.edu/menus. The online menus mark vegan items with this † symbol and vegetarian items with this ‡ symbol. Have a veggietastic day Salukis!
Eat right and be active!
Your University Housing Nutrition Team,
University Residence Hall Dining
Dietetics Graduate Assistant
Undergraduate Nutrition Intern